Tobacco stores across Indiana could face tougher penalties for selling tobacco products to anyone under 21 under a bill endorsed by the Indiana House.
The additional penalties are part of a bill increasing Indiana’s minimum age for smoking and vaping from 18 to 21 to conform with a new federal law.
The new proposal would boost the fine against a retailer for a first violation from a $200 maximum, to a minimum of $500 with a third violation within three years carrying a minimum $1,000 fine and a three-year loss of the store’s tobacco sales certificate.
House members voted 84-14 for the bill earlier this week while the Senate is considering its own bill.
(02-19-2020) Early Ford V-8 Foundation Museum Offering Free Admission
(02-19-2020) Panel Backs Ban On Indiana Drivers Using Handheld Phones
(02-19-2020) Ohio Medical Review Board Issues Arise
(02-19-2020) MSD Approves Bus Replacement
(02-19-2020) Leo Jr. / Sr. High School Air Test On Thursday
(02-19-2020) Business After Hours At Thunder Lakes on Thursday
(02-19-2020) Indiana Beach To Close For Good
(02-18-2020) Two Car Crash On US-24 In Paulding County Injures Five
(02-18-2020) Gas Prices On The Rise Around The Region
(02-17-2020) Parkview Noble Hospital Receives Energy Star Accolades
(02-17-2020) Firefighter Parade In Mongo
(02-17-2020) Man Hunt In LaGrange County