Steuben County REMC Annual Meeting Sees Record Turnout
Wednesday, June 12, 2019

A surge in attendance in recent years caused a need for a venue change, but moving locations did not stop over 1,100 attendees from participating in the 2019 Steuben County REMC Annual Meeting at Trine University’s Athletic Recreation Center on Saturday, June 8. Members and their families enjoyed a catered chicken luncheon from Nelson’s BBQ, entertainment from Choice, registration gifts, door prizes and lots of fun and fellowship. The youngest REMC members enjoyed a carnival midway, which included nine different inflatable games and obstacle courses, balloon art, face painting and prizes. Despite seeing the sun for the first time in weeks, the members came out to set the highest meeting attendance on record.

The meetings’ theme, “New Location, New Generation,” touted the change of venue as well as the up-and-coming generation technologies in the electric industry, including the new REMC-owned electric vehicle charging station at the recently opened Wingate Hotel. The ‘new generation’ theme carried through the participants as well, as members of Forever Improving Steuben Together (FIST), the Mayor’s Youth Council, and the Steuben County Bit & Bridle Club helped with registration, clearing tables, kids’ activities and even performed the National Anthem and the invocation.

The philanthropic spirit of the day was alive and well as 330 members completed vouchers for the REMC to donate to a local nonprofit on the members’ behalf. Cans from the event were donated to the Community Humane Shelter of Steuben County, and local shelters and first responders received donations as well. Honor Flight Northeast Indiana was on site to talk with veterans, and VP of the organization Max Robison performed the pledge of allegiance.

During the business meeting, members heard an overview of the past year of operations from board president Wayne Gingerich and REMC CEO Kevin Keiser. REMC members cast their vote in a contested election for districts 3 and 6, electing William Snyder for district 3 and re-electing Gary Stroh for district 6. Wayne Gingerich was re-elected for the uncontested district 7.