Resolution on Trail of Deat
Thursday, February 20, 2020

U-S Senators Todd Young of Indiana, and Gary Peters and Debbie Stabenow of Michigan announced a bipartisan resolution Tuesday recognizing the forced relocation of the Potawatomi Nation to Kansas and Oklahoma.

The resolution acknowledges the extreme hardship, violence, and maltreatment inflicted on the Potawatomi people by the United States through the cruel and ill-conceived policy of forcible removal of the Potawatomi people from their homeland east of the Mississippi River.

The Potawotami Nation comprised of members of the many villages,
communities, and bands that resided in their homeland in the southern Great Lakes region of the present day States of Ohio, Indiana, Michigan, Illinois, and Wisconsin.

Their advanced farming techniques, extensive trade and commerce networks, and well-established transportation routes of the Potawatomi Nation had a significant influence on the early history of North America.